Lakeland Regional Foundation Recognizes 2011 Philanthropist and Corporate Philanthropist of the Year

Monday, February 27, 2012  •  News


2011 Individual & Corporate Philanthropist of the Year


Lakeland Regional Foundation Recognizes 2011 Philanthropist and Corporate Philanthropist of the Year

On Thursday, February 23, the Lakeland Regional Foundation hosted the annual donor reception honoring members of the Morrell Society, 1914 Society and Bridge Builders. During the event, held at the home of Steve and Ann Moore, two special awards were given to recognize philanthropic efforts that went above and beyond in 2011. The award recipients were:

2011 Philanthropist of the Year

Each year, the Foundation names a philanthropist of the year – in which an individual is recognized for his or her exceptional commitment to the vision and values of Lakeland Regional by making a significant personal contribution of time, talent and resources to the development of superior healthcare. 

The Foundation recognized Dr. Sarah D. McKay as the 2011 philanthropist of the year. Dr. McKay has been a loyal supporter of the hospital, with giving that dates back to 1998.  She is a Platinum level member (which requires cumulative giving of $100,000-$499,999) of the Foundation’s Morrell Society.  Dr. McKay is a member of Women in Philanthropy, and of the Bridge Builders Society, which names the Foundation as the ultimate beneficiary of a planned gift.  She is a partner in the Future Campaign, and her contributions include gifts to the Cancer Clinical Trials Campaign.

In addition to her gifts, Dr. McKay is being recognized for her generous commitment of service to Lakeland Regional by serving on the hospital board from 1988-1991 and was the first woman to chair the board in 1988-1989.  She also served on the Foundation Board from 1992-1998, and is currently the chair for the Senior Advisory Council for the capital campaign.

“Sarah McKay is a woman I personally strive to emulate, a highly respected community leader and a great southern lady,” Dr. Elaine Thompson, President and CEO of Lakeland Regional Health Systems, said. “It is such a privilege to have the opportunity to recognize her great work for the hospital and our community.”

Dr. McKay is a member of numerous boards and committees within the Lakeland community, including Florida Southern College, Polk Theater, Downtown Lakeland Partnership, United Way, P.E.O. and Central Florida Speech & Hearing Center. She has received many local and state awards for her generosity and compassionate leadership, including the Stanley S. Kresge Award, George Jenkins Award from the Lakeland Chamber, Walter Wolf Award for Outstanding Service, Lifetime Achievement Award from the Polk Museum of Art, and the late Governor Lawton Chiles honored Dr. McKay with the Florida’s Finest Recognition Award.

Past recipients of the philanthropist of the year include Ed and Denise Crenshaw, Steve and Ann Moore, John and Helen Cannon, Chuck and Connie Bovay, Hunt and Mary Berryman, and Lester and Selma Wishnatzki.

2011  Corporate Philanthropist of the Year

The corporate philanthropist of the year recognizes a business that has made a significant contribution of services, products and/or financial resources to the development of superior health care.

Peterson & Myers, P.A. was recognized as the 2011 corporate philanthropist of the year for their long involvement as the legal counsel for Lakeland Regional, beginning in 1980, and for their support of the Foundation since 1994.

“Peterson & Myers, P.A. has been an invaluable asset to Lakeland Regional through their countless hours of service and legal counsel for many years. It is my privilege and honor to have them as our 2011 corporate philanthropist of the year,” Dr. Thompson said.

Peterson & Myers is a Platinum level Morrell Society member (cumulative giving of $100,000-$499,999). Other contributions to the hospital have included support of the Lights for Life Campaign, sponsorship of the Cancer Center Library, Capital Campaign and sponsorship of Cookin’ Men.

In addition, the Foundation is fortunate to have the volunteer service of attorneys Philip Allen and Robert Puterbaugh. Allen has served for many years on the Foundation’s Planned Giving committee, Senior Advisory Council & Bridge Builders Committee for the Capital Campaign. He is also a former Foundation Board Member having served from 1993 to 2000, and as the chair in 1998.  Puterbaugh served on the cancer clinical trials committee in 2005 and as a chef for the Foundation’s Cookin’ Men event.

This is the third year the Foundation has recognized a corporate philanthropist of the year.  The 2010 recipient was Hall Communications, and the 2009 recipient was Publix Super Market Charities.